The park has a charming old tree population, curved walking paths, small meadows and a pond with a peninsula. The peninsula contains the hereditary burial place of the von Ende family, who established the park in the 18th century while developing a new castle. A special jewel in the park is a small church built of fieldstones in the Romanesque style. Dating from the 12th century, it houses medieval wall paintings and a late Gothic carved altar.
However, visitors may wonder why there is no manor house in Altjeßnitz. The castle partially burned down in 1946 and was mostly demolished in the following years. The last remains of the former castle itself were removed in 1975. Today, the gateway with the imposing gate tower and the estate outbuildings are the only remnants of the old estate.